

This has, however, been changed with an update to the rules by Wizards of the Coast and no longer applies. Lands can be thought of as currency, except that you get all your currency back to spend again (during the untap phase of your turn, in which all of your tapped cards are untapped).īefore 2010, there was a rule stating that every time mana dissipates from your mana pool at the end of a step or phase, you lose one life per mana that dissipated. Lands do not go on the ' stack' and do not have a Mana Cost as they are what provide mana. It would seem that the rulebook does not determine whether one may play land for an opponent for abilities like landwalk.

Land is primarily used (by tapping) for Mana, but often lands have other abilities.

Lands are the base for magic, because they are used to produce the magic energy of mana at no cost other than tapping.
